The Winds of the New Cold War Are Howling in the Arctic Circle: The Second Newsletter (2023)

The New Dark Age

Thursday, 12 January 2023 — The Tricontinental

Spiridonov Yuri Vasilyevich Sakha Landlord of the Moma mountains 2006Spiridonov Yuri Vasilyevich (Sakha), Landlord of the Moma Mountains, 2006.

Dear friends,

Greetings from the desk of Tricontinental: Institute for Social Research.

In 1996, the eight countries on the Arctic rim – Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States – formed the Arctic Council, a journey that began in 1989 when Finland approached the other countries to hold a discussion about the Arctic environment. The Finnish initiative led to the Rovaniemi Declaration (1991), which established the council’s precursor, the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy.

View original post 1,527 more words

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.